Competition Format

The 2020 Shikoku University AJET Cup Touch Rugby Tournament is open to mixed teams of 6 playing members, with any number of substitutes. Teams may be composed of any combination of international and Japanese players, but there must be at least one female player on the field at any one time. If a team cannot field a female player, rather than being disqualified, that team must play with only 5 people on the field.

Tries scored by male players will be worth 1 game point. Tries scored by female players or veteran players will be worth 2 game points.

This year we will be implementing a two-division system for the tournament.
There will be a Competition Division for experienced teams that want to compete in a typical championship format, and a Friendly Division for less experienced teams who want to have fun in a non-competitive format with no championship. Teams must choose which division they would like to be placed in when they register.

The overall competition format will be decided based on the number of teams that register for each division. The Competition Division championship will most likely be run as similarly to past years as possible, utilising round-robin games and a point-based system.

A complete schedule of games will be distributed to each team captain upon arrival at the venue.

Our Schedule Rundown is on the next page.

Good luck to all teams! See you in June!